

2024 Inter-Lake Yachting Association Fall Meeting Minutes December 7, 2024

The Fall Meeting of the Inter-Lake Yachting Association was held on December 7, 2024, and was called to order by Commodore Dale Vanderford at 3:31 pm. An invocation was offered by Fleet Chaplain Commodore Ed Payne. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Head Fleet Captain Eric Osborne. Moment of Silence for Pearl Harbor Day. Registrar Nate Edmunds called the roll of delegates, I-LYA Past Commodores, and I-LYA Officers. 48 club delegates and 13 Past Commodores were present. Election ballots were distributed during delegate rollcall. Commodore Dale Vanderford introduced guests and Commodores. Commodore Dale Vanderford asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the 2024 Spring Meeting. Motion made by Ed Payne seconded by Diane Wright to approve the Spring meeting minutes. Motion passed.

REPORTS – COMMODORE DALE VANDERFORD

Nominating Committee:

Chairperson Linda Leff introduced the nominees:

Rear Commodore: Kevin Stone

Tom Thanasiu

Trustee: Chris Aune

Steve Hyder Eric Osborne Kathy McCarthy Jeff Upholzer Stan Ziemkiewicz

Code of Regulations Committee also has general clean-up items to be voted on.

Advisory Committee: Commodore Mike Fishbaugh had nothing to report.

Executive Secretary: Commodore Cindy Johnson-Mintus reported. See attached report.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Karyn Selle reported that all bills have been paid.

I-LYA Trustees Report: President Commodore Steve Hyder (DBBC) reported that our new Executive Secretary is doing a fine job! Beginning next year (April, 2025), the Trustee's meeting will be open to all delegates to attend. The Trustees are the Administrative Branch of the organization and invite all delegates to attend if they so choose.

Delegate Reports:

- United States Sailing Association: Commodore Mike Fishbaugh and Commodore Duane
 Burgoyne reported that the USSA has had an interesting year with Olympics. There is not a CEO
 of USSA as of current. There are 8 regions. The Mills Race is the longest continuous run in the
 US.
- 2. **National Boating Federation (NFB):** Commodore Mike Powers reported that he is a Vice President of NFB and I-LYA delegate. Ed Payne is the Director of the Executive Committee and Stan Ziemkiewicz is the NFB AYC delegate. The Spring meeting of the NFB will be in Philadelphia.
- 3. **Boating Association of Ohio:** Commodore Cindy Johnson-Mintus reported for Commodore Dennis Mintus. Boating Association report is attached.

Yachtsmen's Fund: Commodore Steve Harris reported the Yachtsmen's Fund has had a good year as the stock market has been good. The Yachtsmen's Fund went over the spending limit this year with supporting Junior Bay, Junior Powers, several regattas, and 6 young people at the World Championship in Peru.

Code of Regulations: Commodore Cindy Johnson-Mintus – Nothing in addition to the amendment to the Code of Regulations which will be voted on today.

Admiralty Committee: Commodore Steve Hyder - No Report

Sponsorship Committee: Nate Edmunds reported for Chair Teressa Vanderford that we have 3 new sponsors: Toledo Spirits (\$1300), Heidelberg Beer Supplier (\$1500), and Shores & Islands Ohio (\$1500).

Yearbook Committee: Marilyn Paselsky reported that she will be doing the 2025 yearbook.

I-LYA Historian: Chair Tom Thanasiu reported we have had a good year for history. Auction at the PIB Historical Society had a 1937 Trophy. The 100th year of the I-LYA memorial in the park will be in a couple of years – Tom has cleaned and repaired the memorial. Commodore Bob Lang is making a new trophy.

Perpetual and Memorial Trophies: Chair Tom Thanasiu reported the trophy room is located in the Putin-Bay Winery.

Island Liaison Committee: Bryan Huntley (SYC) reported the contract with the Village and two more years with PIBYC have been negotiated. Looking into Sunday dockage. They will be meeting again with the mayor in May. They will be securing dates for 2027.

AFFAIRS AFLOAT – VICE COMMODORE SCOTT KNEISEL

Powerboat Committee: Chair Kevin Stone reported the new Powerboat Committee positions are as follows:

Chairman – Chris Aune Vice-Chairman – Nate Edmunds Secretary – John Brook Treasurer – Joy Moon

Sail Committee: Chairman Bill Pribe (NCYC) reported a successful regatta – 59 boats. They are working towards getting the attendance up next year. They would like to start races earlier during Bay week to get more races in. US Sailing has a new rule book. Sailor of the Year Award was won by Trey Sheehan.

Sail Yacht Appeals Committee: Commodore Duane Burgoyne reported there is one appeal in process.

Intersectional Racing Committee: Commodore Mike Fishbaugh – No Report.

Junior Activities Committee: Chairman Alex Chabalowski reported successful years in both Junior Bay and the Traveler Series with 865 kids participating. 94 attended Junior Bay.

Junior Sail Championship Regatta Committee: Alex Chabalowski – No Report.

Junior Powerboat Regatta: Commodore Bob Lang reported he is looking into getting the juniors involved at the upcoming AYC poker run events. He will make a presentation to AYC.

AFFAIRS ASHORE – REAR COMMODORE DEAN REAMSNYDER

Entertainment Committee: Sharon Kneisel reported there is a Ball tonight!

Publications Committee: Rear Commodore Dean Reamsnyder reported that there is an article in the Newsletter about publications. Commodore Dale Vanderford has approximately 100 yearbooks left if anyone needs one.

Shore Courtesy Committee: Commodore Bob Lang reported the Bagpipers are lined up for next year.

Sports Ashore Committee: Jay Crum reported everything was good at the regattas.

Long Range Planning Committee: Kay Soka -reported for Bryan Huntley – Anyone is welcome to attend the Long Range Planning Committee meeting. Continuing discussions with PIBYC on storing the I-LYA trophies. The History Page on Facebook has 510 followers. They have made a recommendation to Vice Commodore Scott Kneisel for next year's honorary chairman.

Old Business: None

New Business:

Election Results for 2025: The following have been elected to serve for the 2025 Year:

Rear Commodore - Tom Thanasiu

Trustees – Chris Aune, Commodore Steve Hyder, Eric Osborne

The Code of Regulations Amendment passed and is hereby amended as of December 7, 2024.

Motion by Commodore Duane Burgoyne, seconded by Commodore Cindy Johnson-Mintus, to destroy the ballots. Motion carried.

Motion by Commodore Steve Hyder, seconded by Commodore Cindy Johnson-Mintus, to advance our current officers (Scott Kneisel to Commodore and Dean Reamsnyder to Vice-Commodore). Motion carried.

Announcements:

- There will be a 'power hour' in the hospitality room from 5pm 6pm tonight.
- Cleveland Boat Show Dates are January 16 19, 2025
- Organization could use a good marketing plan for regattas and someone to do it. If you know of someone, please contact Trustee Commodore Steve Hyder or Executive Secretary Commodore Cindy Johnson-Mintus.
- Take I-LYA information back to Clubs. This will help with marketing our regattas as well.
- Photo Contest from regattas. Link on Facebook to submit photos. Announcement of winner will be made at the Spring Meeting.
- GCBA Past Commander Don GCBA is having Huron Basin function June 20-22, 2025. Will have ODNR, Clean Water Marine, and Homeland so boaters can get familiar with these organizations.
- Sandusky Yacht Club purchased unique markers at Kelley's Island

Motion made to Adjourn: Commodore Dale Vanderford asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion made by Commodore Bob Lang, seconded by Commodore Steve Hyder, to adjourn. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 4:33 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Pamela Myers (DBBC)
2024 I-LYA Recording Secretary